Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Our Board of Trustees consists of eminent individuals from the business, scientific, academic, and public-service communities. The board meets quarterly. Members are elected to three-year terms. Reelection is possible, but no member (other than the chief executive officer and president, who are elected annually by the board and who are ex officio members) may serve more than three consecutive terms.

The board elects corporate officers and sets policy for the Aerospace FFRDC while supervising and directing the general management of the corporation. From its inception, the Aerospace board has established and maintained strict conflict-of-interest standards for its members and for the corporation’s officers and employees.



Barbara M. Barrett

Former U.S. Ambassador to Finland; former Deputy Administrator, FAA; former CEO, American Management Association; former President, Thunderbird School of Global Management.


The Honorable
Michael B. Donley
Vice Chairman

Retired Secretary of the Air Force; former Director of Administration and Management, Office of the Secretary of Defense; former Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Financial Management, and Comptroller.


Dr. Wanda M. Austin
President and CEO

President and CEO, The Aerospace Corporation; former Senior Vice President, National Systems Group, and former Senior Vice President, Engineering and Technology Group, The Aerospace Corporation.


The Honorable
Charles A. Blanchard

Partner, law firm of Arnold & Porter; former General Counsel and Chief Ethics Officer, U.S. Air Force; former General Counsel, U.S. Army; former member of the Arizona State Senate.


Gen. Kevin P. Chilton
(USAF, Ret.)

Former Commander, U.S. Strategic Command and Air Force Space Command; former member of the Joint Staff and the Air Staff; former NASA astronaut.


Dr. David M. DiCarlo

Retired Vice President and General Manager of the Space Systems Division, Aerospace Systems Sector, Northrop Grumman.


Dr. Bonnie J. Dunbar

M. D. Anderson Professor of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering and Director of the STEM Center, University of Houston; former NASA astronaut.


The Honorable
Keith R. Hall

Former Director of the National Reconnaissance Office; former Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Space; former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Intelligence and Security; retired Senior Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton.

Daniel E. Hastings

Dr. Daniel E. Hastings

Cecil and Ida Green Education Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; former Chief Scientist of the Air Force.


The Honorable
Tina W. Jonas

Former Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller) and Chief Financial Officer, Department of Defense; former Assistant Director and Chief Financial Officer, FBI; former President of UnitedHealthcare Military and Veterans.


The Honorable
Michael Montelongo

Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Corporate Affairs, Sodexo, Inc; former Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Financial Management, and Comptroller.


Gen. William L. Shelton
(USAF, Ret.)

Former Commander, U.S. Air Force Space Command; former Assistant Vice Chief of Staff and Director, Air Staff, U.S. Air Force.


Ms. K. Anne Street

President, Riverside Consulting Group, Inc.; former President and Chief Operating Officer, Geo-Centers, Inc.; former Vice President, Battelle Memorial Institute.

Heidi Shyu

The Honorable
Heidi Shyu

Former Assistant Secretary of the Army for Acquisition, Logistics and Technology; former Vice President of Technology Strategy and Vice President Raytheon, Space and Airborne Systems.

Alan Wade

Mr. Alan C. Wade

President, Wade Associates, Inc.; retired Chief Information Officer, Central Intelligence Agency; 35-year career with the CIA.