Aerospace Announces Changes to Board of Trustees

EL SEGUNDO, Calif. (June 11, 2012) — The Aerospace Corporation has announced two changes to its board of trustees. The Honorable Ellen O’Kane Tauscher has been elected to serve as a new member, effective June 6. Gen. Howell M. Estes III (USAF, Ret.) will be retiring from his position on the board as of June 8.

Tauscher has experience in both the public and private sectors. She is currently Special Envoy for Strategic Stability and Missile Defense at the State Department. She served as Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security Affairs between 2009 and 2012. Prior to that, she was a member of the United States House of Representatives, serving California’s 10th Congressional District from 1997 to 2009.

Before beginning her political career, Tauscher spent 14 years working on Wall Street. At age 25, she was one of the first women to become a member of the New York Stock Exchange.

Tauscher earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Seton Hall University in 1974.

Estes served on The Aerospace Corporation’s board of trustees for more than 12 years. He held the position of vice chairman for seven years. During his tenure he served as a member of nearly every committee of the board and was chairman of the Executive Committee, the Finance and Strategic Planning Committee, and the CEO Search Subcommittee.

Estes retired from the Air Force in 1998 after 33 years of service. At the time of his retirement he was commander-in-chief of the North American Aerospace Defense Command and United States Space Command and was also commander of Air Force Space Command.

The Aerospace Corporation, based in El Segundo, Calif., is a nonprofit company with almost 3,600 employees and operates a federally funded research and development center that provides technical guidance and advice on all aspects of space missions to military, civil, and commercial customers to assure space mission success.

For more information, contact: [email protected]